Lukas Hagen, O.Univ.Prof.

University Professor in Violin
Head of the Institute for Chamber Music

  • Mirabellplatz 1
  • 5020 Salzburg

Lukas Hagen was born in Salzburg.  He studied at the Mozarteum University under Dr. Helmut Zehetmair and graduated in 1983 with distinction.  After his university studies he was taught for a year by Gidon Kremer. Other important teachers for Lukas Hagen were Nikolaus Harnoncourt and Walter Levin.


Invitations to the Lockenhaus Festival of Chamber Music gave him the possibility to make music together with artists such as Oleg Maisenberg, Heinrich Schiff, Andras Schiff and Vladimir Ashkenazy.


Lukas Hagen is first violinist of the Hagen Quartet and since 1981 he has performed in all the world`s major music centres.

The Hagen Quartet was awarded first prize at the international competitions in Portsmouth and Evian.  The quartet has had an exclusive contract with Deutsche Grammophon since 1985.


Lukas Hagen has performed as soloist at the Salzburg Mozart Week and at the Salzburg Festival.  He has given concerts in Italy, Germany, England and Japan. Lukas Hagen is leader of the Chamber Orchestra of Europe and a violinist in the Serapion Ensemble.


Lukas Hagen has been a professor at the Mozarteum University since 1999 and he is frequently invited to sit on juries at international competitions and to give master-classes.