Besides the Vice-Chancellor's Committee and the Senate, the University Council is one of the three leading collegial institutions of the Universität Mozarteum Salzburg. Its members are not allowed to be related in any way to the university, they must not be employees of the university or belong to the staff of the relevant federal ministries responsible for dealing with university affairs. Two of its five members are elected by the Senate of the Universität Mozarteum Salzburg or are nominated by the federal government (Federal Ministry of Science and Research). During the constituent meeting these four members appoint the fifth member of the University Council by mutual consent, whose term of office is limited to five years.

The main tasks of the University Council include the election of the Vice-Chancellor as well as the election of the Deputy Vice-Chancellors. The University Council gives its opinion on the study courses and on the courses available outside the agreement on achievement. The University Council is responsible for approving the development plan and the organisational plan. The duties of the University Council are regulated in § 21 of the University Law dating from 2002.