Top Image

13th International Mozart Competition
String Quartet: Competition conditions

The 13th International Mozart Competition will be held by the Universität Mozarteum in Salzburg from 2 to 15 February 2018.
The string quartet competition will be held from 2 to 8 February 2018.
Musicians from all nations are entitled to take part. The rounds are held in public.
The jury consists of major personalities from the international world of music. The decisions of the jury are incontestable.


STRING QUARTET
2 – 8 February 2018

Age limit: members of the string quartet should not be older than 35 years; however, the overall age of the ensemble must not exceed 120 years as of 2 February 2018.

Closing date for registration: 15 August 2017

Participants are kindly requested to register using the application form which is only available on the Internet under www.uni-mozarteum.at/mozartwettbewerb International Mozart Competition.

It is necessary to send a DVD (audio and video) for the preliminary round together with the online-application. The following documents are to be attached to the online-application form: scanned passports of the members, a high resolution photo of the ensemble and digital passport photos of the members, curriculum vitae in German and English with details of the quartet’s artistic development in continuous text (not headline style), about 1500 characters in length.
The repertoire submitted by applicants with the registration is binding. Subsequent changes are not possible!


The decision whether the quartet is allowed to take part in the competition is taken on the basis of the DVD submitted by each quartet. The DVD recordings as well as the electronic registration form have to have arrived in the Competition Office by 15 August 2017. The material submitted remains in the Competition Office.

For the DVD (preliminary round) please submit:
A string quartet of your choice from the 10 string quartets by Mozart, K. 387 to K. 590, and the first movement from one of the following string quartets by Franz Schubert:
No. 13 in A minor, D 804
No. 14 in D minor, D 810
No. 15 in G major, D 887

In principle we recommend that participants should use urtext editions. For works by
W. A. Mozart candidates are expected to use the New Mozart Edition.

Ensembles who have been approved to take part will be informed by October 2017. Participants from abroad can then – if necessary – apply for an entry visa using this confirmation. Applications which do not meet the requirements of the competition have to be rejected.

After receiving confirmation of the right to participate, candidates must transfer the registration fee amounting to € 320 at the latest by 31 December 2017 into the following account at the Bank Austria: Bank Identification Code (BIC): BKAUATWW, IBAN AT381100009953258200, designated “Universität Mozarteum Salzburg”,.
The full name of the ensemble, the full names of all members are to be stated on the payment slip as well as the reference “Mozart Competition 2018 Salzburg”.
If the candidates are prevented from taking part, the registration fee cannot be reimbursed. After receiving confirmation of the right to participate and after payment of the registration fee, the candidates are entitled to take part in the competition.

Participants have to find their own accommodation. A list of hotels and other types of accommodation will be sent out from the Competition Office together with the confirmation of the right to take part. Participants whose place of residence (or place of study) is outside Salzburg and who reach the second round will receive reimbursement of expenses amounting to € 50 per day. Students at the Mozarteum University are not entitled to such reimbursement.

Candidates have to register in person on 2 February 2018 in the Competition Office and present a valid identity card with photo. Practice rooms can then also be reserved. By registering to take part in the competition, candidates confirm that they will remain free of all other engagements and will remain in Salzburg. If a candidate wishes to leave Salzburg during the period of active participation in the competition, this has to be clarified with the competition directors.

The order of performance of the participants will be drawn by lots on 2 February 2018 and this will be retained for the entire competition. Each quartet draws their own number.

The decisions made about the results of the competition by the jury are irrevocable and incontestable.
Theoretically all ensembles can go through to the second round. For the ensembles which are eliminated a master-class with a jury member will be held on 7 February 2018.

The prize-winners will be determined in the final round. The names of the winners are announced after the final round.

By registering to take part in the competition, members of the quartet are committed, in case they win the first prize, to accept concert engagements organized by the Universität Mozarteum Salzburg irrespective of their current or future management situation.
All rounds of the competition can be recorded by the Universität Mozarteum. There are plans for the final concerts to be recorded by the ORF Austrian Broadcasting Corporation or by other radio and television corporations. The recordings can be used and made publicly accessible for radio purposes (radio and television, including online services) in their entirety, partially and or in excerpts, live or at a later date, also by individual retrieval, independent of the kind of receiver. Other broadcasters in Austria and abroad can use these recordings including the final rounds simultaneously or at a later date. Other usage, in particular broadcasts and on-demand availability, independent of time and location (in their entirety, partially and or in excerpts) are possible. The competition directors also reserve the right to broadcast themselves or have broadcast by a third party competition reports in audio and/or audio-visual form, on analogue and/or digital sound/picture / sound and picture media including websites, regardless of the format or procedure. The necessary agreement of prize-winners is regarded as given by their having registered to take part in the Mozart Competition; the same is true of the transfer of rights (in particular usage rights) according to the above conditions. The prize-winners have no right to claim additional reimbursement.

The competition organisers cannot be held responsible for any damage to persons or objects which may occur in connection with competition events.

If a documentary is made of the competition, all participants agree to take part in this documentary and to transfer all rights concerning this production to the Universität Mozarteum Salzburg. When candidates register to take part in the competition, it is understood that they agree to all competition conditions.

In case of doubt the German text is binding.


ONLINE-APPLICATION
2017/02/20 - 2017/08/15


Contact

DOWNLOADS

Top Image

13. Internationaler Mozartwettbewerb
Streichquartett: Wettbewerbs-Bedingungen

Der 13. Internationale Mozartwettbewerb wird von der Universität Mozarteum Salzburg in der Zeit vom 2. bis 15. Februar 2018 ausgetragen.
Die Sparte Streichquartett findet vom 2. bis 8. Februar 2018 statt.
Zur Teilnahme berechtigt sind Musikerinnen und Musiker aller Nationen. Die Vorspiele sind öffentlich. Die Jury setzt sich aus bedeutenden Persönlichkeiten der internationalen Musikwelt zusammen. Die Entscheidungen der Jury sind unanfechtbar.


STREICHQUARTETT
2. bis 8. Februar 2018

Altersgrenze: Die Mitglieder dürfen nicht älter als 35 Jahre sein, das Gesamtalter des Ensembles darf jedoch 120 Jahre nicht überschreiten. Stichtag: 2. Februar 2018

Anmeldeschluss: 15. August 2017

Die BewerberInnen werden gebeten, sich ausschließlich mit dem im Internet unter
www.uni-mozarteum.at/mozartwettbewerb, Internationaler Mozartwettbewerb verfügbaren Anmeldeformular anzumelden.

Mit der Online-Anmeldung ist die Übermittlung einer DVD (Audio und Video) erforderlich.
Der Online-Anmeldung sind beizufügen: eingescannter Reisepass der Mitglieder, ein hochauflösendes Foto des Ensembles und digitale Passfotos der Mitglieder, Darstellung der künstlerischen Entwicklung des Quartetts im Fließtext mit ca. 1500 Zeichen (Biographie in Deutsch und in Englisch).
Das von den Bewerberinnen und Bewerbern mit der Anmeldung eingereichte Repertoire ist verbindlich. Nachträgliche Änderungen sind nicht möglich!

Über die Zulassung zum Wettbewerb wird aufgrund der von jedem Quartett einzureichenden DVD entschieden. Die DVD-Aufnahmen sowie die elektronische Anmeldung müssen im Wettbewerbsbüro am 15. August 2017 eingelangt sein. Das eingesandte Material verbleibt im Wettbewerbsbüro.

Auf DVD (Vorrunde) sind einzureichen:
Ein Streichquartett nach Wahl aus den 10 Streichquartetten KV 387 bis KV 590 von
W. A. Mozart und der 1. Satz aus einem der folgenden Streichquartette von F. Schubert:
Nr. 13 in a-Moll D 804
Nr. 14 in d-Moll D 810
Nr. 15 in G-Dur D 887

Grundsätzlich wird empfohlen, Urtextausgaben zu verwenden. Bei Werken von
W. A. Mozart wird die Verwendung der Neuen Mozart-Ausgabe erwartet.

Die zugelassenen Ensembles werden im Oktober 2017 verständigt. Teilnehmende aus dem Ausland können – soweit erforderlich – mit dieser Bestätigung sofort ein Einreisevisum beantragen. Anmeldungen, die den Anforderungen des Wettbewerbes nicht entsprechen, müssen zurückgewiesen werden.

Die Anmeldegebühr von EUR 320 ist erst nach Erhalt der Zulassungsbestätigung, jedoch spätestens bis 31. Dezember 2017 ausschließlich als Banküberweisung auf das Konto BIC BKAUATWW, IBAN AT 381100009953258200 lautend auf „Universität Mozarteum Salzburg“ bei der Bank Austria einzuzahlen.
Auf dem Einzahlungsformular sind der Name des Ensembles, die vollständigen Namen aller Mitglieder sowie der Verwendungszweck „Mozartwettbewerb 2018“ anzugeben.
Eine Rückerstattung der Anmeldegebühr bei Verhinderung kann nicht erfolgen. Nach Erhalt der Zulassungsbestätigung und nach Einlangen der Anmeldegebühr sind die Bewerberinnen und Bewerber zur Teilnahme am Wettbewerb berechtigt.

Für die Unterbringung haben die Teilnehmenden selbst zu sorgen. Eine Hotel- bzw. Unterkunftsliste wird vom Wettbewerbsbüro gemeinsam mit der Zulassungsbestätigung übermittelt. Teilnehmende, deren Wohnort (Studienort) außerhalb Salzburgs liegt und die den 2. Durchgang erreichen, erhalten als Spesenersatz pro Tag und Person 50 Euro. Ausgenommen hiervon sind Studierende der Universität Mozarteum.

Die persönliche Anmeldung der Teilnehmenden findet am 2. Februar 2018 im Wettbewerbsbüro unter Vorlage eines gültigen Lichtbildausweises statt. Dabei können auch Übezimmer reserviert werden. Die Teilnehmenden bestätigen durch die Anmeldung, sich während der Dauer des Wettbewerbes von allen anderen Verpflichtungen freizuhalten und sich am Wettbewerbsort Salzburg aufzuhalten. Eine örtliche Veränderung während der aktiven Teilnahme am Wettbewerb ist mit der Wettbewerbsleitung abzusprechen.

Die Reihenfolge des Auftritts wird am 2. Februar 2018 ausgelost und gilt für den gesamten Wettbewerb. Jedes Quartett zieht seine Zahl selbst.

Die Entscheidungen über die Ergebnisse des Wettbewerbes werden durch die Jury getroffen, sind unwiderruflich und unanfechtbar.

Alle Ensembles können theoretisch in den zweiten Durchgang aufsteigen. Für die ausgeschiedenen Ensembles wird am 7. Februar 2018 eine Masterclass mit jeweils einem Jurymitglied angeboten.

Die Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger werden im Finaldurchgang ermittelt. Die Bekanntgabe erfolgt im Anschluss an den Finaldurchgang.

Mit der Anmeldung zum Wettbewerb verpflichten sich die Mitglieder des Streichquartetts, im Falle des Gewinns des 1. Preises, die von der Universität Mozarteum organisierten Tourneen unabhängig von der aktuellen oder zukünftigen Managementsituation des Quartetts wahrzunehmen.

Sämtliche Wettbewerbsdurchgänge können von der Universität Mozarteum aufgezeichnet werden. Es ist geplant, dass die Finalkonzerte vom ORF oder anderen Rundfunk- und Fernsehanstalten aufgezeichnet werden. Die Aufzeichnungen können zu Rundfunkzwecken (Hörfunk Fernsehen einschlie߬lich online) ganz, teilweise und/oder in Ausschnitten, live und zeitversetzt, auch auf individuellen Abruf unabhängig von der Art des Empfangsgerätes, verwendet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden. Andere Sender im In- und Ausland können diese Aufzeich­nungen einschließlich der Finaldurchgänge zeitgleich oder zeitversetzt nutzen. Weitere Nutzungen, insbesondere Sendungen und Zugänglichmachungen, unabhängig von Zeit und Ort (ganz, teilweise und/oder in Ausschnit­ten) sind möglich. Die Wettbewerbsleitung behält sich außerdem das Recht vor, die Wettbewerbsbeiträge in klingender und/oder audio-visueller Form, selbst oder durch Dritte, auf analogen und/oder digitalen Ton-/Bild-/Bildton-Datenträgern einschließlich Plattformen, gleichgültig in welchem Format oder Verfahren, zu verbreiten bzw. verbreiten zu lassen. Die dafür erforderliche Einverständniserklärung der PreisträgerInnen gilt mit der Anmeldung zum Mozartwettbewerb als gegeben; das Gleiche gilt für die Übertragung der Rechte (insbesondere der Verwertungsrechte) gemäß den obigen Bestimmungen. Die PreisträgerInnen haben keinen Anspruch auf zusätzliche Vergütung.

Der Wettbewerbsveranstalter haftet nicht für Personen- und Sachschäden, die im Zusammenhang mit Veranstaltungen des Wettbewerbes entstehen.

Bei einer allfälligen Dokumentation des Wettbewerbes erklären sich die Teilnehmenden damit einverstanden, an dieser Dokumentation teilzunehmen und sämtliche Rechte bezüglich dieser Produktion an die Universität Mozarteum Salzburg zu übertragen.
Die Einverständniserklärungen zu sämtlichen Wettbewerbsbedingungen gelten mit der Anmeldung zum Wettbewerb als gegeben.

In Zweifelsfällen ist der deutsche Text maßgeblich.


ONLINE-ANMELDUNG
20.02. - 15.08.2017


Kontakt